

MEHRAN UNIVERSITY OF ENGINEERING & TECHNOLOGY



INFO.ONLY	ROUTINE	URGENT	IMMEDIATE	
No.MUET/AH/- 01			Dated: 19.05.2	021

MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF THE ACADEMIC HEADS HELD ON TUESDAY 18^{TH} MAY, 2021.

The meeting of the Academic Heads of Mehran University of Engineering & Technology, Jamshoro was held on Tuesday 18th May, 2021, at 11:00 am, in the Prof. Dr. Haji Mehmood Senate Hall, New Administration Block of the University. The meeting was called to discuss the revised semester regulations 2021 and summer semester (19 Batch).

The following members attended the meeting:

1.	Prof. Dr. Mohammad Aslam Uqaili Vice Chancellor, MUET, Jamshoro.	In-Chair
2.	Prof. Dr. Tauha Hussain Ali Pro-Vice Chancellor, MUET, Jamshoro.	Member
3.	Prof. Dr. Mukhtiar Ali Unar Dean Faculty of Electrical, Electronic & Computer Engineering, MUET, Jamshoro.	Member
4.	Prof. Dr. Khanji Harijan Dean, Faculty of Engineering, MUET, Jamshoro.	Member
5.	Prof. Dr. Khan Muhammad Brohi Dean Faculty of Architecture and Civil Engineering, MUET, Jamshoro.	Member
6.	Prof. Dr. Aneel Kumar Dean Faculty of Science Technology & Humanities, MUET, Jamshoro.	Member
7.	Prof. Dr. Abdul Waheed Umrani Registrar MUET, Jamshoro.	Member
8.	Prof. Dr. Khadija Qureshi Chairperson Department of Chemical Engineering, MUET, Jamshoro.	Member
9.	Prof. Dr. Muhammad Ishaque Abro Chairman Department of Metallurgy and Materials Engineering, MUET, Jamshoro.	Member
10.	Prof. Dr. Rizwan Ali Memon Chairman, Department of Civil Engineering, MUET, Jamshoro.	Member
11.	Prof. Dr. Ashfaque Ahmed Hashmani Chairman Department of Electrical Engineering, MUET, Jamshoro.	Member

12.	Prof. Dr. Dur Muhammad Pathan Chairman	Member
	Department of Mechanical Engineering, MUET, Jamshoro.	
13.	Prof. Dr. Asif Ali Shaikh Chairman Department of Basic Sciences & Related Studies MUET, Jamshoro.	Member
14.	Prof. Dr. Abdul Salam Soomro Chairman Department of Industrial Engineering, MUET, Jamshoro.	Member
15.	Prof. Dr. Abdul Haque Tunio Director Petroleum & Natural Gas, Department of Industrial Engineering, MUET, Jamshoro.	Member
16.	Prof. Dr. Zeeshan Khatri Chairman Department of Textile Engineering, MUET, Jamshoro.	Member
17.	Prof. Dr. Arbab Nighat Kalhoro Chairperson Department of Electronics Engineering, MUET, Jamshoro.	Member
18.	Prof. Dr Jawaid Daudpoto Chairman Department of Mechatronic Engineering	Member
19.	Dr. Mir Shahnawaz Talpur Chairman Department of Computer Systems Engineering, MUET, Jamshoro	Member
20.	Dr Imtiaz Ahmed Chandio Chairman City and Regional Planning, MUET Jamshoro	Member
21.	Dr. Habibullah Pathan Director English Language Development Centre, MUET, Jamshoro.	Member
22.	Dr. Fahad Irfan Siddiqui Chairman Department of Mining Engineering, MUET, Jamshoro.	Member
23.	Dr Naeem Ahmed Mahoto Chairman Department of Software Engineering, MUET, Jamshoro	Member
24.	Mr. Moazzam Ali Pathan Chairman Department of Architecture, MUET, Jamshoro.	Member
25.	Dr. Shah M. Kamran Nominee by Director MUISTD, MUET Jamshoro	Member
26.	Prof. Dr. Muhammad Yakoob Soomro Chairman, Department of Petroleum and Natural Gas, MUET SZAB Campus Khairpur Mir's	Member
27.	Prof. Dr. Hassan Ali Khan Durani Chairman, Department of Mechanical Engineering, MUET SZAB Campus Khairpur Mir's	Member
28.	Dr. Hyder Abbas Musavi Director Academics, MUET SZAB Campus Khairpur Mir's	Member

29.	Dr. Mazhar Hussain Baloch Chairman, Department of Electrical Engineering, MUET SZAB Campus Khairpur Mir's	Member
30.	Prof. Dr. Inam Ullah Bhatti Director ORIC, MUET Jamshoro	Invitee
31.	Prof. Dr. Naeem Aziz Director MIS MUET Jamshoro	Invitee
32.	Mr. Khalid Feroz Channa Controller of Examination MUET, Jamshoro.	Invitee
33.	Dr. Sheeraz Ahmed Memon Director Institute of Environmental Engineering & Management, MUET, Jamshoro.	Member/Secretary

The proceedings of the meeting started with the recitation of verses from Holy Quran by Worthy Vice Chancellor Prof. Dr. Muhammad Aslam Uqaili. Thereafter the Chair wished Eid Greetings to all the members.

Thereafter the following agenda was taken up;

ITEM NO.1

To discuss the Revised Semester Regulations 2021.

RESOLUTION NO. 1.1

After detailed deliberation and discussion the house approved the revised semester regulations 2021 with minor changes.

ITEM NO. 2

To discuss and approve the Summer Semester for the 1^{st} Semester of 19-Batch and start of 4^{th} semester classes of 19 Batch.

RESOLUTION NO. 1.2

After the deliberation the house resolved that:

- i. The Summer Semester (1stsemester) and regular semester (4th semester) of 19 Batch be started from Monday, 31st May 2021.
- ii. The classes for regular semester (4^{th} Semester) of 19 Batch will start from 8:00am to 10:00am. Each class will be of 01 hour duration.
- iii. The classes for summer semester (1st Semester) of 19 Batch will start from 10:00am to 03:00pm. Each class will be of 45 minutes.
- iv. The registration for summer semester be started immediately and chairman/Head of the Department take efforts to get maximum registration of students in summer semester.
- v. The fee structure for summer semester is fixed amounting Rs.7500/- for each theory course and Rs.5000/- for each practical course.
- vi. The limit of minimum course registration number is exempted for the 1^{st} semester of 19 Batch in summer semester.

ITEM NO. 3

Other items with the permission of chair.

RESOLUTION NO. 1.3

After the permission of chair, the house discussed and approved following decisions:

- i. The Expert for the thesis guidance of Final Year Project/Thesis/Business Plan preferably be called from industry. In case of an academician, the expert shall be called within the university.
- ii. Experts within the university be arranged.
- iii. The departments are advised to encourage faculty to involve experts from industries in final year project of undergraduate program as thesis Co-supervisor.
- iv. Management Information Systems (MIS) of the university will not accept attendance once the maximum number of classes (48 max: for 3C.Hs and 32 max: for 2C.Hs) have already been conducted.
- v. The Chairman/HoD can provide provisional re-admission to the candidate if there is delay from admission department.

DR. SHEERAZ AHMED MEMON

Secretary

Academic Heads Meeting

Salus